Post subject: Fountain Pens
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 11:59 am 
Gold Member
Gold Member

So I'm a total noob to pens. I'd like to get a fountain pen (very) cheaply. What would be my best bet?

Feel free to talk about whatever pens you have or would like to have.

Conor

Post subject: Re: Fountain Pens
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 12:26 pm 
$
$

I would like this Lamy one, though admittedly I know nothing about pens, and it's based mostly on looks/price
http://europeanpaper.com/product/brand/ ... n-pla3063/

Edit: how do I make it smaller? It's just a picture from the site that sells it

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 12:33 pm 

I had a "I should buy a fountain pen" moment in college and picked up a Parker 45. It's a pretty classically American pen and I purchased mine (lightly used on eBay) for around $20.

I generally grab a ballpoint for daily use and my personal correspondence, but I guess it's nice to know that I have a decent pen in my reserves if I ever need to sign an important treaty someday.

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 12:43 pm 
$
$

I had a Schaefer cartridge pen with a white dot on it, which I loved and used constantly til I lost it. The cartridge feature was great - no inky fingers. If I ever see another, I'm buying it. Years ago someone gave me a big fat Montblanc, which I never use because it's too big and fat. I would gladly trade it for the schaefer, though it was much more expensive.

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 1:10 pm 
Gold Member
Gold Member

I like and use a vintage Parker 51.

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 2:59 pm 
Gold Member
Gold Member

A few thoughts on buying a fountain pen taken from my own personal "Gee, I ought to own a fountain pen" experience a few years back.

1. Examine your current writing patterns. My guess is that if you need a fountain pen you'd own one already. It's very unlikely that you'll use it just because you have it.